Where next for the dreaded dissertation..

What is the value of hyperrealism art in a time of high resolution photography?

I chose this title for my dissertation after tutorials with my tutor, we spoke about my interests and aims within art and what questions i have. I have always felt pressured to defend my choices of art and drawing style, why i stick to certain types of art instead of exploring the more loose and abstract styles. Why do i always strive for the more detailed and perfected final image?

I have begun my research into this question by thinking of why people create such realistic images when they could just take a photo?

  •  Is it because of their commercial value?
  • They are attracted to its aesthetic appeal?
  • Simply because they have the skill?
  • They have a wonder for the human ability and what is possible?

Through my research i hope to answer my own question. Now going into my final year i want to combine each aspect of my course as much as i can, the combined sketches and dissertation artists research will hopefully work each other to benefit all aspects of my work through the year.

Artists research so far has consisted of Redosking, Heather Rooney, Jono Dry ranging from portraits of celebrities, Close up focus on facial features to waves and nature.

Leave a Reply

